Easter Egg Garland Tutorial

Keeping in theme with Spring and Easter, I found another Pinterest project on my list to do. The original pin is from here.

It is called Easter egg garland. But you can also just use it as decoration on a table or in a centerpiece bowl.

IMG463

WHAT YOU NEED:
-1 bottle liquid starch (I used Sta-Flo, found at Walmart for $2.67)
-Embroidery floss, 1 per egg (I did 6 to start with)
-Flour
-Water balloons (filled with air!)

So first blow up the water balloons. Each one will be used as “the egg,” so if you are making 6 eggs, you need 6 balloons. Little did I know, water balloons come in different sizes, and apparently I grabbed the larger size. Just adjust the amount of air in the balloon until you get the size/shape of the egg you want. You can even sorta “mold” the balloon to give it more defined egg features.

Next, mix up the starch solution. You should mix 1 cup liquid starch with 1/2 cup flour. The original instructions said to blend it all together in a blender, but my blender is broken, so i just used a spoon to mix it well in a bowl. It might be a little clumpy, but that’s okay.

Now, you need to unravel your string. This step is SUPER important; if you don’t, you will end up with knotted string that is unusable. After you have it completely unraveled, circle it into the starch solution and then submerge it with a spoon.

IMG449

After the all the string is covered in solution, grab one end of the string and start wrapping it around a balloon. You can do any pattern you want! Just make sure the string is taught, and not loose. (I think that was my problem on 3 of my eggs :/ )
When the string runs out, place the balloon on some newspaper or a plastic bag to dry. Repeat the process for the remainder of your balloons. It will take 12-24 hours to dry. I rotated my balloons halfway through the drying process because I noticed the top half was dry but the bottom half was still damp. I think that rotation sped the process along.

IMG450

After they are dry, pop the balloon, and take it out with tweezers. You may notice a white residue on the string. Take a needle or safety pin to rub off the residue. From far away it is unnoticeable.

IMG465

IMG466

As you can see, 3 of my eggs came out “lumpy” 😦 I think it’s because I didn’t have the string taught enough. Also, I think it would be beneficial to wipe the excess solution off with your fingertips as you are wrapping the string around the balloon. You know, just slide the string between your fingertips to get off the extra solution. The good news is that the other side of the lumpy eggs were perfect, so if you postion them carefully, you don’t even see the lumps! Problem solved! 😉

I hope this project turns out well for you! 🙂

One thought on “Easter Egg Garland Tutorial

Leave a Reply

