Veggie Pasta? Don’t Mind If I Do!

So, my pantry and fridge are looking pretty bare and I need to go grocery shopping. That’s on my to do list for tomorrow, which means I was stuck staring at a barely filled fridge and pantry. What did I find in the back? A box of Mueller’s “Hidden Veggie” Pasta. A full serving of veggies in every 4 oz serving of pasta is what the box says! Well, why not when I have nothing else to eat. I put the pasta on the stove to cook and tried to think of some sort of sauce I could put on top, seeing as I had no kind of pasta sauce in the house. WHAT?! you say? Yes! I told you my pantry was bare!

Well, I just decided to go for a lemon-y garlic something. I minced 2 cloves of garlic and added a hefty few squirts of lemon juice. Once the pasta was drained I added that and stirred. I added a little more lemon juice and some Italian bread crumbs and mixed again. Then finished with some pepper on top. Pretty good I would say! It is definitely a very lemon flavor, so If you don’t like that “lemon punch” you get with lemons, you probably won’t like this dish. Nonetheless, here is the recipe I just made up.

Image

WHAT YOU NEED:
-1 Box of pasta
-2 to 3 Cloves of garlic, minced
-1/4 Cup lemon juice (or adjust to your preference)
-1 to 2 Tablespoons Italian bread crumbs
-A dash of two of pepper

Cook pasta, drain. Combine minced garlic, lemon juice, and bread crumbs. Mix in pasta and top with pepper. 

Side Note: The “veggie pasta” didn’t taste any different than regular pasta. If you see it in your grocery store, give it a try! Can’t hurt to add some hidden veggies into your pasta meal! 😉

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

