Dinner & Dessert!

I was in the mood to cook & bake today…and well…that is what I did.  I will have to put in some extra time at the gym tomorrow…

So both recipes I made I found on Pinterest and wanted to try them out.

For dinner I made “Key West Chicken” and adapted the recipe from here

WHAT YOU NEED:
-3 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
-2 Tablespoons Honey
-1 Tablespoon Vegetable Oil
-Juice of 1 Lime (2 Tablespoons)
-2 Cloves of Garlic, minced
-2-3 Chicken Breasts

So I used frozen chicken breasts. I let them thaw out and then cut them up into bite sized chunks.  For the marinade, combine all of the other ingredients and mix them up in a casserole dish or large flat dish. Place the chicken chunks in the marinade and coat all sides, then leave to sit in fridge for 30 minutes, turning once within that time. The longer they sit, the more flavor they will get, so leave them in for an hour if you want! After the chicken has marinaded, you can pop it in the oven, on the grill, or in a skillet (what I chose). I cooked them for about 7-10 minutes, turning them occasionally.
I paired the chicken with a baked potato and some sauteed onions. Mmmmmm!

IMG432

For dessert, I decided to make “Brown Sugar Blondies,” which let me say, looked Oh so good just through the screen of the computer! I got the recipe from here  which actually had them as Valentine blondies.

WHAT YOU NEED:
-1 Cup All Purpose Flour
-1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
-1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
-1/8 Teaspoon Baking Soda
-1/2 Teaspoon Salt
-1/3 Cup Butter
-1 Egg
-1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
-1 to 1 1/3 Cups M&Ms

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Melt butter. Combine butter and brown sugar and mix well. Add egg and vanilla, mix. Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add half of the M&Ms and mix. Spread batter in a 9×9 baking pan and sprinkle the rest of the M&Ms on top. Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

IMG434

Man oh man were these good! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

